My Journey toward Fitness

I might not talk about my fitness journey that much on this blog, which is focused on skincare. But I can fit two of me into the dress I wore to prom over a decade ago. This was achieved by eating between 600 and 1000 calories a day for the past 3 years. After dieting and exercising all my life, I came to the realization that 1200 /1500 calorie diets were not restrictive enough for people of all heights and bodytypes – and that excessive exercise can be counterproductive – as I unfortunately learned when I used to do weight training. Very low calorie diets can be healthy and lead to long lives.

Throughout my life, I’ve always had a major problem with personal discipline – insofar as I have very little of it. It has been a long, difficult haul. Coping with body hair and acne was bad enough; my eyebrows used to grow knit together in the middle and fan out toward the ends. But hearing about weight loss stuff like your set point, fixed number of fat cells, and feeling socially pressured to eat much starchy food from my heritage, created a psychological barrier that was difficult to surmount. Therefore my weight loss journey has also included spurious diet pills and cleanses, many of which do work to jump start fat loss .

My goal is the “taut, teenage” type of body as exemplified by celebs like Taylor Swift, Natalie Portman or FKA Twigs, not a more “adult” body since I can’t carry the hourglass look off without a waist trainer. This is a personal choice that I am making. Not an unrealistic one borne of beauty standards or attracting men. Even if my bust and hips may not get so small, that’s the kind of leg, arm and waist size that I am going for. After reaching a healthy adjusted BMI level, I still feel that I have a bit of bodyfat to remove. It was difficult to cope with being built different at a young age since my parents were ectomorphs.

One thing that continues to bother me is the loose skin situation. As I did not lose weight in earnest until after age 25, I have a significant amount of loose skin. I have mitigated some of it by using tretinoin on the affected area, but it’s still not enough. But this is a long journey. Just like my fight against acne, keloids, and hyperpigmentation took about a year and went above and beyond the usual treatments like Clean and Clear, standard skin whitening products in Asian beauty, and mainstream drugstore products, to the steroids and high strength hydroquinones.

This is going to be difficult, but it’s going to be worth it. Join me on this path toward fitness. Perhaps I’ll be able to wear a bikini next year, even.

Leave a Reply

