Strange concepts

As a fan of life improving technologies it has come to my attention that a lot of health and beauty for young women is marketed toward people who either 1. have superfluous cash, 2. seek to live or portray a leisure lifestyle or 3. identity politics (like the organic thing). As I thought, where is this extra cash coming from, it dawned on me that some women are married to men who make more than they do, and that a lot of this is a form of signalling a negative relationship – a relationship that kind of disconnects money from work. Where people spend money that they did not earn.

I do not buy things that are overly expensive. This is because I see the effort that I have put into my hours of work and seeking alpha (gains from investments). Also, I must prepare for the future because the future is always uncertain. My parents are in their 60s, going on 70s, I am the sole support, and like most people, my boyfriend makes equal to or less than I do. I think some people in modern society do not think about the future much, and in some respects, this is good. It’s good to be in the present, as many New Age writers like to say. But I’m the kind of person who worries way too much about the future and is involved in things like space advocacy and more.

I do not know if I would call myself a feminist in the modern sense, since some people I know associate feminism with stuff like a high divorce rate or an attitude that “men ain’t shit”.

Leave a Reply

