Reviews 6/19/2014

Clairol Soy4Plex Haircolor 

I used the shades 6AA and 8A to do a base and highlights and get a popular toffee hue similar to J. Lo or Beyonce. So first what I did was bleach the appropriate parts of my hair to a reddish shade, then put the dye over it. Then afterward, I washed my hair with some jerry-rigged shampoo I had laced with purple hair dye.

This hair dye outperformed ‘Hi-Color for Dark Hair’, which often creates a brassy shade. Note that I had to cut through prior dabbling in henna. I did not get a dry effect from this dye. I can say that after a month of washing, this haircolor has not reverted to a brassy or orangey shade, although it may be getting into a lighter ash.

As for the developer you are to use, it varies based on your heritage or hair type. As a general guideline,

– Use 40 for dark East or South Asian, Pacific Islander, and thicker Hispanic or Mediterranean hair types. This hair type could also work with 30 for bleach and 30 for dye, which is what I do.
– Use 30 for dark or red African or European hair types, thinner hairtypes mentioned above. This hair type could also work with 20 for bleach and 20 for dye.
– Use 20 for medium to light African or European hair types, permed hair, and dreads.
– Use 10 if you want to go darker only.

Leave a Reply

